15 Heroines

Tom commissioned and produced this landmark theatre-on-film production of 15 new short plays adapted from Ovid, putting the women of mythology centre stage. It was made as a coproduction between Jermyn Street Theatre and Digital Theatre. Tom directed six of the pieces, with the others directed by Adjoa Andoh and Cat Robey.

Tom directed plays by Bryony Lavery, Isley Lynn, Hannah Khalil, Lorna French, Charlotte Jones, and Natalie Haynes, starring Patsy Ferran, Eleanor Tomlinson, Gemma Whelan, Martina Laird, Sophia Eleni, and Olivia Williams.

The 15 plays were presented in three programmes of five plays each – The Desert, The War, and The Labyrinth. They were broadcast in November 2020 and drew Jermyn Street Theatre’s largest ever box office returns. They are now available to educational subscribers to Digital Theatre Plus.

15 Heroines was placed third in the Observer’s end-of-year review of 2020 theatre. It was Critic’s Choice in the Times, Telegraph, Time Out and Observer, and was awarded an OnComm Commendation from OffWestEnd.

★★★★ “Fifteen ancient heroines are resurrected with wit, imagination and verveThe Stage

★★★★ “Delightfully literary, bite-sized, and beautifully written.” Arifa Akbar, Guardian

★★★★ “A triumphant revoicing of famous tales… 15 bristling new monologues by top playwrights, scorchingly delivered by 15 leading actors.” Susannah Clapp, Observer

★★★★★ London Pub Theatres, British Theatre, Spy in the Stalls, I Thank You Theatre, Reviews Hub, Broadway World

★★★★ Time Out, London Theatre 1, ReviewsGate, The Arts Desk


Eleanor Tomlinson, Indra Ove, Martina Laird, Nicholle Cherrie, Rosalind Eleazar, Patsy Ferran, Dona Croll, Natalie Armin, Nadine Marshall, Olivia Williams, Sophia Eleni, Ann Ogbomo, Rebekah Murrell, Jemima Rooper, Gemma Whelan

Creative Team

Writers – April De Angelis, Stella Duffy, Samantha Ellis, Lorna French, Juliet Gilkes Romero, Natalie Haynes, Charlotte Jones, Hannah Khalil, Bryony Lavery, Isley Lynn, Sabrina Mahfouz, Chinonyerem Odimba, Lettie Precious, Timberlake Wertenbaker, Abi Zakarian

Directors – Adjoa Andoh, Tom Littler, Cat Robey

Designers – Jessie McKenzie, Emily Stuart, Louie Whitemore

Lighting Designer – Johanna Town

Composer and Sound Designers – Nicola Chang, Max Pappenheim

Assistant Directors – Gabbie Bird, Khadifa Wong

Camera Director – Anke Luedekke